Story Time

I don’t know why, but it feels weird to be writing in this space again.

I’ve been writing a lot lately in more of a story format. I use what I’m experiencing in the moment (sights, sounds, feelings, etc.) and create what I imagine would be background for characters in a story. The thing that bothers me is that there’s really only one character: me. Because I’m using everything around me, I decided to just let it fly and embrace the fact that it’s extremely personal. So far, I haven’t changed any details. I am literally just writing my life in a book format.

That terrifies me a little bit, because I feel like if I continue with it and it evolves into some kind of narrative, I’m going to be too attached to change things around and make it less personal. But at the same time, I would never let anyone read it the way it is because it is so personal.

It also terrifies me because it’s making me think a lot. And I don’t have a great history with thinking a lot. It feels like something that could lead me down a rabbit hole. But it also feels like something that could help me uncover my potential.

So, as I mentioned, I’ve decided to just embrace it and cherish it as something just for me.

I realized that I really like writing in that format, though. And if nothing else, it’s good practice.

There are so many other things going on right now, and I would love to catch you up, but I just felt like this was important to get out of the way first. I hope that in the coming weeks I will be able to find some time and motivation to tell you about everything!

But if not, Happy Spring, Happy Earth Day, Happy April, Happy May, and Happy Friday!

Screenshot 2016-01-18 14.26.24

(P.S. La La Land comes out on DVD next week! I’ve been abstaining (from watching the movie/clips–can’t give up the music), so, hopefully, when I watch it again on Tuesday it will be just as magical as the first time! #morethananobsession)

2 thoughts on “Story Time

  1. I try not to antagonize over my writing too much. I’ll do some minor correction, grammar, spelling, and hit Publish. When I obsess over the smallest detail, I tend to make the piece worse. Also, “Keep Calm & Carrie On” – I see what you did there! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m an anxious person to begin with, so it’s really hard for me to let go. But I get what you’re saying. That’s always my goal!
      I thought “Keep Calm & Carrie On” was just a cute play on words at first, but it’s kind of become a mantra!
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

