Saturday Morning Dance Party

I wish I could bottle this feeling for all the less-than-perfect days. I started a text to a friend this morning with “I just had a perfect 24 hours :)” (Yes, I use smileys as punctuation when I’m happy.) It’s also been a perfect 3 or so hours since I sent that text, thanks to one of the longest solo dance parties I think I’ve ever had. (Which is still going, to be honest.)

One of my aunts and cousins have made it kind of a tradition to go a local Home Show with my mom and another one of my aunts every year. It started yesterday, so they showed up around 9am, just in time for breakfast. I recently became a master caramel roll maker. My grandma made incredible caramel rolls-

“She wears short skirts, I wear T-shirts. She’s cheer captain and I’m on the bleachers, dreaming ’bout the day when you wake up and find that what you’re looking for has been here the whole time.” Sorry about that little interruption. Currently in the Taylor Swift portion of the marathon dance party.

Anywhoo…

My grandma made incredible caramel rolls when she was around, so that’s what I was up against with this recipe. And I came pretty damn close.

“You say you’re fine, I know you better than that. Hey, whatcha ‘doin with a girl like that?” How can you not sing this part of the song?

So, I made incredible caramel rolls. Then I got to spend the day with my little babe, which is the best way to spend a day. And then we had a big-ish family dinner, which I also made (Stuffed Pasta Shells and Angel Food Cake, yum!). Even though I’m not the life of the party, I legitimately love dinners with extended family. It makes me all warm and fuzzy.

And then my brother really made me feel all warm and fuzzy when he admired me for being both lead babysitter and lead cook and announced that I’m really the glue that holds the family together (or something along those lines)! He also bragged up my first attempt at Tiramisu. I had to agree with him on that. It was pretty heavenly! Oh, that man. I can’t call him a boy. He’s never been a boy to me. He’s always been old. But sometimes, I just love him so much.

I was riding shotgun with my hair undone in the front seat of his car. He’s got a one-hand feel on the steering wheel, the other on my heart. I look around, turn the radio down. He says “baby, is something wrong?” I say “nothin’, I was just thinkin’ how we don’t have a song…”” The first T-Swift song I fell in love with.

To top it all off, it’s a beautiful SPRING day here in Minnesota. Yes, a February SPRING day, thanks to El Niño. It’s supposed to get into the mid-50s today. As soon as I can pull myself away from this addicting, get-up-and-dance music, I’m going for a walk.

Oh, man. Can’t stop this one. “If Diane Young won’t change your mind, baby, baby, baby, baby right on time!”

Hope your Saturday’s going as well as mine! Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to stop multitasking and just full out dance while I still have the house to myself.

Screenshot 2016-01-18 14.26.24

(P.S. I apologize for being all over the place, but I can’t control my happy!!)

(P.S.S. Why would I ever want to? 😉 )

Leave a Reply

