A Little More Time

I have been suffering from a bad case of blogger’s burnout, which seems to be a common theme this time of year. I have been trying to adjust to a new schedule and a new way of thinking and I have had absolutely no interest in spending my time writing, photographing, or even cooking. Seriously, the number of meals I make myself has probably dropped about 75% in the last month. All I can bring myself to do during my free time is a) try to figure out what the hell I want to do with my life and when that fails b) binge watch The Good Wife.

Oh, yeah, remember how much I said I love mornings? I stopped setting alarms and now wake up close to 9 a.m. every morning. You have no idea how much that pisses me off. But, one night I just decided that if I’m not going to do anything else with my life, at least I’m going to get as much sleep as my body needs. So there’s that.

I also got slammed with pink eye last week. Now I understand why my niece was so miserable when she had it earlier this year. Man.

And Cocoa gave us a scare this weekend. Even my mom (who won’t admit that she loves him) said she was scared that maybe he had a tumor. He’s almost the same age our last dog was when he died and he means so much to my niece, so every little thing worries us. But after a weekend of all of us subtly saying our goodbyes, yesterday the vet reassured us that he’s one of the healthiest dogs he’s seen and still has a long life ahead of him. He just needs to take a week off from golf cart-chasing.

Life hasn’t been as rosy this month and I so badly want everything to be back to normal. I want to feel like the Carrie I discovered almost one year ago to the day. She was so happy and full of life and had passions, but most importantly she had faith that everything would work out. This Carrie is a little lacking in that department.

So, I just ask you all to continue to be patient with me. I’ve taken a big step by writing this post, but I need a little more time to rediscover myself. I will try to post a little more regularly this next month, but at least you now know why I may not. I hope this will benefit all of us and make me a better (and more interesting) person all around.

Leave a Reply

