My New Hobby!

I’m becoming so domestic! I started a little herb garden a few weeks ago. Since I’ve started cooking more “complex” recipes (aka actually using herbs) I’ve realized how essential herbs really are and how handy it would be to always have access to fresh herbs.

My collection has been steadily growing since I first bought the first four herbs a few weeks ago.

Among the chosen few:

Parsley!

Parsley: perfect for making a dish look super fancy.

Lavender!

Lavender: smells divine and when used sparingly, can make heavenly baked goods.

Thyme!

Thyme: I love to add this to beef roasts, which I will making much more of this fall and winter!

Sage!

Sage: I honestly don’t have much experience cooking with sage, but based on the smell, I think it would be amazing with meat of any kind!

I wanted people who didn’t know what herbs looked like to be able to come down and pick some without having to ask what they look like. That’s where the painted pots came from. I originally wanted clay pots so I could paint them completely and add a little chalk paint area to write the name of each herb. But, I eventually concluded that these pots would most likely outlive the plants inside. So, I found a design that would be suitable now, with the herbs, and in the future, without the herbs.

Then I remembered that we have a big ‘ole chalkboard standing up right next to the plant window, so I wrote the names of the herbs in the corresponding colors.

You may notice cinnamon on the board. While I was doing my initial research, I came across how to grow cinnamon trees inside. Saying I love cinnamon would be an understatement. So, I ordered two cinnamon trees and added those to my little herb garden.

Cinnamon Trees!

I also read that basically anything (natural) can be grown from remnants of an existing plant/harvest. Another thing that I’m completely in love with: peppers. So I scraped out some of the seeds from some sweet peppers we had in the fridge and planted those to see what would happen.

Pepper seeds!

Less than two weeks later, this is what they now look like! I decided to move them to a bigger pot so they could grow more naturally into proper pepper plants. That’s a fun phrase: proper pepper plants!

Peppers in a pot!

I also wanted to see how many herbs would grow simply by cutting a few inches off of an existing plant and letting them grow roots in water.

The water experiment

Unfortunately, only the basil developed roots. I still haven’t given up on parsley and spearmint, but did have to give up on rosemary, chives and dill.

Basil!

I just planted the basil in soil a few days ago and it’s starting to perk up!

Basil in a pot!

I love basil! I could use it everyday if I had enough! I could live on Caprese Salad and Margherita Pizza for a long time!

My next experiment is going to be lemon seeds. The next time I use a lemon for anything, I’m keeping some of the seeds, letting them dry out for a day or two and then planting them!

It’s a fun little hobby! I can completely understand how people can get carried away with it and fill entire greenhouses or, in my mom’s case, fill up almost an acre of land!

I’ll keep you all updated with any new additions!

Leave a Reply

