Incredible Salad with Ginger Dressing

This past weekend was a daddy-daughter weekend while my mom was off being a good person and offering her services to people who can’t afford good dental care. But that’s not what this post is about. Oh, no no no. This post is about the one real meal we had in the three days she was gone.

We like to take advantage of the fact that we can have pizza and takeout every day (and night) that she’s gone so for the most part, that’s what we had. (Although we did make our twice-a-year-favorite spamwiches, but I would hardly call that a real meal!)

I had been craving a good salad with ginger dressing for about a week, so I convinced my dad to go to the grocery store. While we were there, we saw some nice filets on sale. We love filets. It was a perfect combination.

My dad is usually not a “fancy” salad guy, but he had three helpings of this one! It’s that good.


I started by making the dressing. I did this about three to four hours before I threw the rest of the salad together to give the ingredients a chance to combine and form this magical substance.

I started by adding 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil to a jar.

Then I added 2 tablespoons of soy sauce…

…1 tablespoon of sugar and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar…

…1 tablespoon of lime juice…

…1-2 cloves of minced garlic (I used 1 large one) and 1-2 tablespoons of the all important ginger (also minced).

I gave it a few shakes and put in the fridge until it was time to assemble the rest of the salad.

When I was ready to assemble the salad, I browned about a cup of bean sprouts…

Then I cut up some lettuce and added 1 green onion, 1 stalk of celery and 1/2 teaspoon of sesame seeds that I had chopped and combined about an hour earlier.

Then I took out the amazing dressing and poured half of it over the greens…

…And added the browned bean sprouts.

I drizzled on the rest of the dressing, mixed it together and topped it with some sliced almonds.

This salad completely rocked my world. It is simply heavenly with beef.

It even won over my simple-salad father!

Leave a Reply

