Mint-Chocolate Chip Cookies

I decided it’s time for a new favorite cookie. We’ve been making the same oatmeal, peanut butter, chocolate chip cookies for more than 10 years now and I feel like it’s time for a change. Not that I don’t love those cookies–I love those cookies. They will always be my classic, baseline cookies. (If I can remember to photograph them the next I make them, I’ll definitely post the recipe!)

But as I’m continuing my cooking journey, I’m learning that cookies are so easy to switch up and experiment with. And I’m loving all of these new concoctions!

Though they may need a little tweaking, these Mint-Chocolate Chip Cookies, based on two of my favorite chocolate chip cookies and my most recent obsession, are definitely finalists in the search for my next favorite cookie.


I started by browning 2 sticks of butter. This isn’t necessary, but I tend to err on the side of caution by constantly swirling the butter over medium-high heat.

There are basically 3 stages to browning butter. The first stage is this lovely foam.

The first stage of browning butter is foam.

The second stage comes very shortly after the foam appears. BUBBLES!

The second stage of browning butter is bubbles.

After a little while, it will become foamy again and when you see this wonderfully golden color appear, it is done.

The third stage of browning butter is the foam turning a wonderfully golden color.

Ahh, browned butter.

You want the butter to be completely cool when you add it in with the other ingredients. If you’re patient, you can take it out of the pot and just let it cool for an hour or so. But I’m not patient. So I put it in this measuring cup, covered it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes (which was still 29 minutes too long for me!).

Ahh, browned (or golden, rather) butter!

As I put the butter in the fridge, I took out yet another stick of butter (mmmmm, buttah buttah!) and set it out to soften.

And watched an episode of Mad Men to distract myself. I am–was–fully obsessed with this show and am in denial now that it’s over. I think I’ll watch the series again from the beginning. And then do it again.

Cookies.

I was making cookies.

I took the butter out of the fridge and let it sit more while I threw together the dry ingredients. I added 2 cups of flour, 1 teaspoon of instant coffee grinds, 1 teaspoon of cocoa powder (will probably be changed to at least 2 teaspoons), 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1 teaspoon of salt to a bowl.

I added the dry ingredients to a bowl.

And mixed them just until they were combined.

And mixed them just until they were combined.

Next I creamed the stick of softened butter, 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of sugar together in a separate bowl.

Next I creamed the softened butter and sugars together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I poured in the beautifully browned butter and mixed it all in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Totally optional, but I love oatmeal in cookies so I added 1/2 cup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I added 2 eggs and 1 tablespoon of vanilla.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And mixed until combined.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I added the dry ingredients in increments, only mixing in about a third of it at a time.

Hey, that looks like cookie dough!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But there is one crucial ingredient missing: the mint-chocolate chips. I added about 3/4 cup of my latest obsession, Andes baking chips.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I put them on a cookie sheet…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And baked them in a 375 degree oven for about 9 minutes, or until golden brown.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mmmm, fresh cookies!

I left them on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before moving them to a cooling rack.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because once they hit that rack, they don’t last long.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mmm, I can smell them now!

2 thoughts on “Mint-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

