Grandma’s Rhubarb Crunch

I don’t remember anyone in my family making this recipe before I found out that we had rhubarb growing in our garden. Once I figured that out, I think I went out there everyday and picked some, brought it in, chopped it up and froze it. I’ve always loved that process for some reason. Then I was determined to learn how to make this and it’s been in my top five favorite desserts ever since.

I start by defrosting seven cups of chopped up rhubarb and I add one cup of sliced strawberries for a little extra sweetness. (You can also just add eight cups of rhubarb and be done with it, but I like the addition of the strawberries.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen I start on the sauce by adding 4 tablespoons of corn starch, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, 1-1/2 cups of sugar and 2 cups of water to a small saucepan and letting it thicken on medium-low heat for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANext comes the crumb topping. I dare you not to eat one or two or five spoonfuls of this stuff once it’s all mixed together. I dare you.

Start by mixing 2 cups of brown sugar, 2 cups of flour, 2 cups of uncooked oatmeal and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon in a bowl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once that’s mixed together, melt 1 cup of butter and slowly mix it into the dry mixture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen you’ve added all of the butter, it will look irresistible and here’s where the dare comes in. I dare you not to eat it at this stage. (Honestly, I used to make a little extra and take some out before the next step so I would have some to eat without feeling guilty and ashamed. But I eventually stopped doing that because I felt guilty and ashamed. Funny how that works.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPress half of the crumb mixture into a greased 9×13″ pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

By this time the sauce is smooth and thick and ready for use.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Throw all of the rhubarb and strawberries on top of that crumbly crumb base and pour all of the sauce over the top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And top it off with the rest of the crumbly crumbs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABake it in a 350 degree oven for one hour. One torturous hour.

And then when it’s done, let it cool for at least 30 minutes. But no one’s stopping you from “cleaning up the edges!”

And when it’s done…Oh, my. When it’s done I go to heaven.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEnjoy.

Today.

Please.

Leave a Reply

