One of Those Unplanned Perfect Days

You know those days where plans constantly change and you never seem to accomplish what you woke up expecting to get done but somehow the day ends up being damn near perfect? Yesterday was one of those days.

I heard the phone ring before the sun came up (but with this stupid Daylight Savings Time, that’s not as early as it sounds) and heard that it was from my brother. From that, I could deduce that we were going to be on sick-baby-duty.

I knew that I wanted to get up and make this deliciousness, so I got ready in record time and started prepping the ingredients. I knew that once the little princess arrived, I’d be more interested in whatever adorable mess she was getting herself into than my breakfast.

When my mom got back with J, I started cooking up breakfast and she got to do this.

Life is not fair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGrandma is such a good influence. “Here, Juliana, stick these pointy ears in your mouth!” While I was a little bit jealous, I have to admit, it is sweet to see them bond like this. She really does love her Grandma. (And her auntie, of course!)

She sat there while we inhaled our breakfasts (aka I inhaled mine so I could get more cute baby shots) and continued to be adorable and carry on a conversation with her grandparents.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter breakfast, Grandma went off and did her Grandma things and Grandpa went off and did his Grandpa things, so Juliana had to hang with her awesome Auntie for the afternoon.

She was feeling a tiny bit needy because she was sick, which is why Auntie didn’t get the chance to take any cute pictures. *sad face*

We bounced (she bounced), listened to some boybands (Auntie rocked out to One Direction and the Beatles and Juliana stared at her butterfly and occasionally bounced), had some pears for lunch, and then took a nap (Juliana napped and Auntie cleaned up and loaded the morning’s pictures onto her computer).

When she woke up (too soon), we chilled and had some sweet cuddly time until the grandparents got back. Then she got super adorable. Grandpa was at a rather important meeting and got some promising news. He decided to celebrate with a glass of scotch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd Juliana was showing some interest!

She didn’t have any–we’re not that crazy. But we did let her sniff it.

And then she wanted to go see her Grandma and be the sweetest sweetheart ever.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd then Grandma wanted to take J for a walk around our property and I couldn’t control myself. Look at this sweetie:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Her first llama experience!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAShe pretty much went right to sleep when we got inside and Auntie got to work on her resume. (Yay.) But I actually thought it was fun! I was so proud of myself when I finally finished it and didn’t use any templates or anything! And it had been weighing on me for a while, so it was nice to have it all done.

And I got to end the day by writing my first cooking post (which I had been looking forward to for a while but couldn’t seem to find the time for) and watching “Julie & Julia” with my padre.

Oh, and did I mention I had Mac & Cheese for dinner? Mmmm. Throwback.

Didn’t plan any of it, but enjoyed all of it. It’s days like that that make me feel so lucky to have the life that I have.

Leave a Reply

