The Source of my Smiles

I’ve always been a smiley person. I’m pretty sure I started smiling before all the books said I was supposed to and I haven’t stopped since. However, the source of my smiles has changed throughout the years. Recently it’s these two that make me smile so big internally and externally that I think I could burst!

I've loved my puppy for over nine years and I've loved this girl for almost four months, but I love them both so much more when they're together!
I’ve loved my puppy for over nine years and I’ve loved this girl for almost four months, but I love them both so much more when they’re together!

To get the “Awwwww” chorus going, let’s take a look at Cokie when he was a little bit younger than my niece, Juliana.

But, seriously. This dude is SO cute!
But, seriously. This dude is SO cute!

Yes, he is mine.

And yes, it is totally fair.

This is how I see him every time I look at him. And this is how he acts to this day.

Seriously, I could go on and on about him. It’s impossible to describe how much I love this boy.

Then there’s this girl.

The night I met my beautiful little niece, Juliana.
The night I met my beautiful little niece, Juliana.

I’m one of those girls who has dreamed of my future family every day of my life. I have lists and lists of baby names that I actually edit constantly. I know how many kids I want and in what order and what sports and instruments I want them to be involved in. Of course, to have babies, I need a guy. I have lists relating to that, too!

My point: I’ve been dreaming about babies for, like, forever. As a kind-of-only-child, I never really got to be around babies, but would literally pray for it everyday. So when I found out I was going to be an auntie, I couldn’t stop smiling for, like, a month. Literally.

And when I met this little cutie, my world got so much brighter.

SO CUTE.
SO CUTE.

So put the two people (yes, Cocoa is a people. He acts more like a person than a dog!) I love most together, and (forgive my teenage-girlness) I can’t even.

Buddies!
Buddies!

Cocoa is learning how to play with her. He can’t understand why she doesn’t want to play with his ropes, but he knows that his little paw or nose nudges get a little smile and squeal out of her!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday she started smiling at him like she smiles at people she knows and my heart felt so full!

"Hi nice puppy!"
“Hi nice puppy!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnce she learns the rope game (or even just the chasing game), they will be BEST BUDS.

But for now, I think they’re both content laying together on the floor and posing for me!

One thought on “The Source of my Smiles

Leave a Reply

