Home

Seven days ago I did something crazy. I said goodbye to my beloved beggars and allowed my parents to put me on a plane for over 8 hours. Okay, not skydiving-crazy, but that’s pretty crazy for me. The last time they did this, let’s just say I left my breakfast on the plane.

Beloved beggar #1: Cocoa, also known as Funny Boy, Silly Boy, Cutie Pie and Puppy.
Beloved beggar #1: Cocoa, also known as Funny Boy, Silly Boy, Cutie Pie, Buddy and Puppy.
Beloved beggar #2: Charlie, also known as Charles, Charlie Bear, King of the Jungle, Needy Boy and Cat.
Beloved beggar #2: Charlie, also known as Charles, Charlie Bear, King of the Jungle, Needy Boy and Cat.

These boys are hard to leave. They’re both pretty spoiled, but I think beggar #1 has it better. He hogs shares my bed at night and follows me around all day (what a lucky guy!). Beggar #2 is a cat, so…he does whatever the hell he wants.

Why, might you ask, did I do this?

Wouldn’t you for this view?

My favorite place on Earth.
Waikiki Beach, Hawaii: my favorite place on Earth.

I made it through the century-long flight and managed to land with my dignity intact. I stepped off the plane and…the airport was air-conditioned. I walked out of the airport and…IT WAS WARM.

Now, allow to me to clarify why this was so important: I’m from Minnesota.

I’ve been basking in the cool Hawaiian rainy days warmth of the Hawaiian sun for the past week. After 6 days of “should I wear a sweatshirt or just bring my raincoat,” we are finally getting a glorious scorching hot, sunny day.

It’s not only the warmth and the ocean that make me love Hawaii. Yes, the warmth and the ocean and the palm trees and the flowers and the longer days are all incredible, but there’s this overwhelming feeling of belonging. I can’t help but feel like this is where I’m supposed to be.

Some of my favorite memories took place on these islands. It has been a gathering place for our family. We were brought here by family and have been lucky enough to show it off to some of our extended family and show them why we keep coming back.

I often look to the future while I’m out here–I imagine bringing my friends out here for a girls week. I imagine my wedding in a chapel near the beach and honeymooning on Kauai. I imagine bringing my own family and making brand new memories.

My parents laugh a little every time our plane touches down here and I proudly announce “I’m home!” But I am. While I appreciate the beauty of the changing seasons at home, Hawaii will always have a special place in my heart.

One thought on “Home

Leave a Reply

